Thorne, Brown, Pentin take oath of office as new terms begin on Pleasanton Council

Mayor starts 3rd 2-year term, 2 others to serve 4 more years

Pleasanton Mayor Jerry Thorne and City Council members Karla Brown and Jerry Pentin were sworn in to their new terms in office Tuesday after winning re-election on Nov. 8.

In a council chamber filled to capacity with family, friends and supporters, Thorne was given the oath of office by Alameda County Superior Court Judge Stephen M. Pulido, a resident of Pleasanton and a former Pleasanton school board member. Thorne is starting his third two-year term in office. Pleasanton mayors can hold the office for up to eight years.

Brown was sworn in to her second four-year term by City Clerk Karen Diaz while Pentin took the oath of office administered by former Superior Court Judge Ron Hyde. Council members also are limited to eight years on the council.

The ceremony led off a regular 2-hour-long City Council meeting in the Pleasanton Civic Center, 200 Old Bernal Ave.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Couples: Child Loss, "No U-Turn at Mercy Street"
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 1,660 views

Pleasanton's home-grown "unicorn"
By Tim Hunt | 1 comment | 933 views

Around Pleasanton: Holiday Fund helps Cultural Arts Council help others
By Jeb Bing | 4 comments | 405 views

Can You Afford Your ‘Dream School’?
By Elizabeth LaScala | 0 comments | 94 views